Burton Library Future Events

Burton Library Future Events

 

Christmas Carols

This year we’re having two rounds of carols in the library. The first is for our senior members at Library Club on Monday 3rd December, where local schoolchildren are maintaining their annual tradition and singing for us at about 10:30am. All over 60s are welcome. Then on Thursday 6th December the Tamarisk Choir are performing carols and folk songs in the library at 1:45pm – feel free to drop by and join in (song sheets provided)!

 

Peter Chand

Peter will be hosting an evening of storytelling on Thursday 6th December from 7:00-9:00pm. He’ll be exploring the original Eastern tales that the Brothers Grimm picked up 200 years ago and turned into the classics we all know. This free event is suitable for anyone over 12, and tickets are available from the library.

 

Craft Drop-in

A free Christmas craft drop-in takes place on Saturday 8th December from 2:30 – 3:30pm. Come and make some Christmas cards or decorations and get in the holiday spirit! All children welcome.

 

 Reading Cafe

This month, we’re getting all festive with mince pies and hot drinks – along with books of a Christmassy sort, of course. Drop by on Tuesday 18th December from 10am – 12pm for free refreshments, free books, and some great ideas for what to read next.

 

 Booksale

Our traditional post-Christmas booksale starts the first day we are open after Christmas, which is Thursday 27th December. Come along to browse our range of adult fiction and non-fiction titles.

 

 Stargazing

And finally advance warning of our New Year stargazing evening, when Bob Richardson from Derby and District Astronomical Society will come and teach us how to search the skies with the help of his telescope. Let’s hope for clear skies on Thursday 10th January!

 Burton Library Christmas Opening Hours

Mon 24 Dec: 8:30am – 1:00pm

Tue 25 Dec: CLOSED

Wed 26 Dec: CLOSED

Thu 27 Dec: 8:30am – 5:00pm

Fri 28 Dec: 8:30am – 5:00pm

Sat 29 Dec: 8:30am – 4:30pm

Sun 30 Dec: CLOSED

Mon 31 Dec: 8:30am – 5:00pm

Tue 1 Jan: CLOSED

 

Thanks to Paul Tovell for the info.

Comments are closed.